MARCH 2021
Khaas Baat : A Publication for Indian Americans in Florida

Florida News

Beckwith Electric’s Dr. Murty V.V.S. Yalla OF TAMPA BAY Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Largo-based (Tampa Bay area) Beckwith Electric Co., Inc., a business unit of Hubbell Utility Solutions, announced recently that Beckwith Vice President & General Manager Dr. Murty V.V.S. Yalla, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) “for contributions to digital protection and control devices for the grid.”

Dr. Yalla earned a diploma in electrical engineering from Andhra Polytechnic in 1976; a Bachelor of Technology in electrical engineering from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University in 1981; a Master of Technology in electrical engineering from IIT, Kanpur in 1983 (all located in India); and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from University of New Brunswick, Canada in 1987.

From 1988 to 1989, Dr. Yalla taught and conducted research on digital power system protection at Memorial University in Newfoundland, Canada. After joining Beckwith Electric in 1989, Dr. Yalla held various leadership roles, including company president from 2005 through December 2020.

Dr. Yalla is the chairman (2015-2024) of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC, Geneva, Switzerland) technical committee (TC95), measuring relays and protection equipment. He leads subject matter experts from 34 countries in the development of international standards in power system protection and control.

The NAE, established in 1964, is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. Its mission is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshaling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. 

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. The NAE is part of The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. It operates under the same congressional act of incorporation that established the National Academy of Sciences, signed in 1863 by President Abraham Lincoln.

The 2021 Class includes 106 nominees from the United States and 23 international members. The Induction Ceremony for Dr. Yalla will be held during the NAE’s Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Oct. 3.

Further information about the National Academy of Engineering and the achievements of its distinguished members can be found at

homeeventsbiz directorysubscribecontact uscontent newseditor's notehealth
immigrationfinanceMINDBODY/NUTRITIONmoviesfashionbooks/getawaysIIFA 2014ART
astrologyyouthmotoringplaces of worshipclassifiedsarchivesBLOGFACEBOOK
Read the Editor's Blog. By Nitish Rele Classifieds Motoring Astrology Books Fashion Movies Finance Immigration Health Editorial News Content Find us on Facebook! Art